‘Not bad!’

After completing basic flying training in Airforce Academy, I had to report to the next unit for advanced flying training. With the proud feeling of becoming a ‘half pilot‘, took a connecting flight from Hyderabad to Kochi which had a halt at Mumbai. After check-in and luggage drop, I proceeded for security check. I, easily, stood out with my zero cut hair, trim body and a tucked-in t-shirt. The CISF officer at the security check identified me as a ‘fauji’ which boosted my confidence. Luckily, I got a window seat and through that I was closely monitoring the movement of flaps, taxiways and the in-flight announcements.

The aircraft took off from Hyderabad and landed in Mumbai. I assessed the landing and realized that it was a ‘hard landing’. The pilot inside me woke up.

Almost everyone deboarded the plane at Mumbai and ground crew were cleaning up the aircraft for Mumbai- kochi passengers. Instinctively, I walked up to the cockpit.

The Captain of the aircraft was a lady (trust me… I didn’t know that before!!) and as I introduced myself as a Military pilot. The sparkle in her eyes conveyed that she was impressed. However,the sparkle didn’t last long as, with inquisitiveness of a kid, I asked her, ” Ma’am your landing wasn’t that smooth. Were there any cross-winds or are you under training”?

Fortunately for me, she didn’t lose her cool. Very calmly, She replied, “Sir, I’m sorry for the trouble. I’m the captain and control for landing was with the first officer and he’s under training”.Oh,that’s okay” I replied. With mere 55 hours of flying experience as a trainee pilot, I almost judged a pilot having more than 5000 hours of flying under her belt! Unpardonable!.

The aircraft landed in Kochi and I was standing in the queue to deboard the plane, the lady pilot came out of the cockpit, walked upto me and sarcastically asked, ” Sir, how was this landing?”. With a smiling face I said “Not bad”, as everybody around went clueless, we both bursted into laughter.

Published by Jojo Alex

Military Pilot, Diver, Traveller

4 thoughts on “‘Not bad!’

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started